top of page

My Front Runner for MVP is...

Now, you were probably expecting me to just tell you right away who my front runner is, however that is not the case. I will be going over my top 5 guys for the MVP award (in no particular order), and then end the article with whom should win out of all these offensive rookies.

 

Quarterback: Aaron Rodgers

2020 stats: 189 comp, 67.5% comp %, 2253 YDS, 24 TD, 2 INT, 87.6 QBR, Rate 117.5

I feel like what Aaron Rodgers has done so far this season has just flown over everybody's head. Obviously his own WR Davante Adams has been taking some of that attention away from Rodgers but I think the way he is playing deserves to have him put into the MVP discussion. Rodgers has been nothing short of spectacular this season, despite the one game he had versus Tampa Bay he has been super consistent with his numbers, if he keeps doing what he has done so far this season I think he could end up being in the top 3 candidates for MVP. The Packers drafting Jordan Love in the first round of the draft has definitely put a major chip on Rodgers shoulder and he is showing why he deserves his starting spot and that this is his team to keep for years to come.

Quarterback: Patrick Mahomes

2020 stats: 220 comp, 66.9% comp %, 2687 YDS, 25 TD, 1 INT, 87.0 QBR, Rate 115.9

I have to say what Mahomes has managed to do so far this season is absolutely incredible, 25 touchdowns to 1 interceptions is the best TD-INT ratio in the league and all the throws he has made is just absolutely insane. Of course the numbers Mahomes has right now is almost expected by us NFL fanatics, but we cannot put to the side that they are not spectacular. Also let me not forget to mention that from week 10 and on Mahomes has the easiest schedule for any QB, which means he will either continue these numbers or he will go on an absolute tear and take the league by storm to win his 2nd league MVP. A great QB with great talent surrounding him is a scary sight for any defense that has to face these Kansas City Chiefs

Quarterback: Russell Wilson

2020 stats: 211 comp, 71.0% comp %, 2541 YDS, 28 TD, 8 INT, 82.0 QBR, Rate 117.1

Russell Wilson, the people's choice for the 2020 MVP has been spectacular this season. Russ is on pace for a very historic season, he is projected to finish the season with 422 completions, 5,082 yards, 56 touchdowns, and 16 interceptions. The only bad takeaway from those projected stats is the 16 interceptions, if he can clean up those interceptions and improve his TD-INT ratio then you can for sure lock-in Russ as the league MVP. But, with that many interceptions I do not think I can pick Russell Wilson as my front runner for MVP this season.


Quarterback: Kyler Murray

2020 stats: 190 comp, 68.1% comp %, 2130 YDS, 16 TD, 7 INT, 79.5 QBR, Rate 99.3

What can't this kid do, I mean not only is he putting up numbers in the passing game, but he is also killing it on the ground. Now obviously Kyler's passing abilities do not scream MVP like stats, but the reason I have him in the MVP discussion is because the additional running ability that he has. I mean he already has 543 rushing yards this season with half of his season still to play, and also not to mention he has 8 rushing touchdowns to go with those yards. Kyler has a very tough schedule coming up the rest of the season, but I am confident in his abilities in the passing and running game that he can keep his name in this 2020 MVP race.

Running back: Dalvin Cook

2020 stats: 144 CAR, 858 rush YDS, 12 rush TD, 16 REC, 173 rec YDS, 1 rec TD

Now now now, you probably expected Josh Allen to take this last spot for my top 5 candidates. Well I hate to break it to you but I believe Dalvin Cook is more deserving of the MVP award than Josh Allen. I mean just look at Dalvin Cook's numbers he has totaled 200+ yards from scrimmage in the last two weeks, and he has had 100+ yards in 4/7 games he has played this season. Obviously the one game he missed vs the Falcons and missing the 2nd half of the Seahawks game hurt his stats, but if you want me to be completely honest, I think if Cook finishes that Seattle game week 5 and plays the Atlanta game week 6 we are looking at a 1,000 yard rusher 9 weeks into the season. He is quite honestly the backbone to this Vikings offense, he also has a very favorable schedule for the rest of the season, in which he will more than likely dominate his opponents. The Vikings being just 3-4 does not do justice for what Dalvin Cook has been able to do this season. If there is any non-QB to be in the running for the MVP award this season is it 110% Dalvin Cook.

 

Now it is time to tell you who I think will win the most valuable player award. After doing research and comparing where all these players are ranked amongst their position I made the decision to go with... Patrick Mahomes as my winner of the 2020 most valuable player award. Obviously this is just my prediction for our half way mark in the 2020-2021 NFL season, but if Mahomes keeps playing the way he has been I see him for sure running away with this award. I think his closest competition to this award is the obvious Russell Wilson, but as well I think Dalvin Cook could make a sneaky run for this award. I will write another article after week 17 giving my final predictions for who I think will take home the MVP award.

bottom of page